The Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) is an internationally standardised assessment which produces information within an international frame of reference about education, learning outcomes and informal learning. The most recent results of the assessment, the results attained, in 2015 released on 6 December 2016 (http://www.minedu.fi/pisa?lang=en).

PISA assesses the learning outcome of students aged 15 in mathematics, science and reading literacy. PISA assesses to what extent students have acquired knowledge and skills that are essential for full participation in society and the variation in these skills over time. The students participating in the assessment are chosen by random sampling. 

PISA also gauges attitudes to learning and learning skills. Questionnaires to students and schools gauge learning environments at home and at school, the students' social background and the support they receive in learning, and students' attitudes to school and learning.

The subjects in the assessment vary. The earlier assessments focused on the following subjects:

  • PISA 2015: science
  • PISA 2012: mathematics
  • PISA 2009: reading
  • PISA 2006: science
  • PISA 2003: mathematics
  • PISA 2000: reading

In 2015, 73 countries/economies participated in the PISA assessment, 34 of which were OECD members. Finland's participation is financed by the Ministry of Education and Culture, which also nominates Finland's representative on the PISA Governing Board.

(Ministry of Education and Culture)